Uttar Pradesh Map

Buy Now  custom maps zoom map

Disclaimer: All efforts have been made to make this image accurate. However Mapping Digiworld Pvt Ltd and its directors do not own any responsibility for the correctness or authenticity of the same.

Uttar Pradesh is India's most populous state with a population 199,581,477 (2011 census). It is divided into 75 districts with Lucknow as its capital.

Uttar Pradesh is bounded by Nepal on the North, Himachal Pradesh on the northwest, Madhya Pradesh on the south, Haryana on the west, Rajasthan on the southwest, and Bihar on the east.

Wheat, rice, sugar cane, apples, mango, pulses, oil seeds and potatoes are the main crops of Uttar Pradesh.

The service sector comprises of travel and tourism, hotel industry, real estate, insurance and financial consultancies.

Uttar Pradesh attracts a large number of tourists. The famous Taj Mahal of Agra is located in this state. It also hosts the world famous 'Kumbh Mela'.

It has many state of the art hotels to cater to the lodging needs of visitors, both national and international.

Other important cities in Uttar Pradesh are Allahabad, Varanasi, Ayodhya and Mathura.

Uttar Pradesh State Information

Capital Lucknow
Date of formation 26. Jan. 1950
Governor Shri Ram Naik
Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath
Tourist attractions Taj Mahal, Sangam, Varanasi
Festivals Karva Chauth, Annakoot, Shitala Ashtami, Eid
Major dance and music forms Kathak, Lucknow and Benares Gharanas of music
Arts and crafts Chikankari or shadow-work embroidery; Baranasi brocades which include the zari, amru and abrawan; Sanjhi or the art of cutting paper stencils.
Languages Hindi, Urdu
Size 240,928 sq. km
Population (Census 2011) 199,812,341
Rivers Ganga, Yamuna, Gomti, Ghaghra, Ramganga, Betwa
Forests and wildlife sanctuaries Dudhwa NP
State animal Swamp Deer
State bird Sarus crane
State flower Brahm kamal
State tree Ashok
Major crops Wheat, rice, pulses, Sugar Cane
Factoids The ancient Dhamek Stupa marks the spot where Buddha gave his first sermon in Sarnath.
Mughal emperor Shah Jahan built the Taj Mahal for his dead wife Mumtaz Mahal; the tomb took 22 years to build
No. of District 75

Divisions of Uttar Pradesh

Allahabad Division Faizabad Division Mirzapur Division
Agra Division Basti Division Kanpur Division
Bareilly Division Jhansi Division Saharanpur Division
Aligarh Division Devipatan Division Meerut Division
Chitrakoot Division Lucknow Division Varanasi Division
Azamgarh Division Gorakhpur Division Moradabad Division.

Districts of Uttar Pradesh

Given below are the names of the 75 districts of the state: