Uttar Pradesh Politics

The sole credit of presenting the state of Uttar Pradesh with a whole new perspective regarding social as well as economic welfare goes to Uttar Pradesh politics. The state's politics has encountered a major overwhelming upheaval in the last few decades.

The politics in Uttar Pradesh has not only revolutionized the various aspects of life in the state but also procured eminent names to the politics of India as well. As a matter of fact, eight Prime Ministers so far have descended from the territorial dominion of Uttar Pradesh. Arranged in chronological order the list reads as:-

The government of Uttar Pradesh is one of the finest examples of a bicameral legislature in India. It is a democratically elected body which is headed by the Governor of the state. The Governor of Uttar Pradesh is elected for a period of five years. He is the ceremonial head of the state and appoints the chief minister and the council of ministers.

Although the Governor is the head of the state but the day to day functioning of Uttar Pradesh politics is managed by the Chief Minister and the council of ministers. The council of ministers comprises ministers of state, cabinet ministers and deputy ministers. The council of ministers is assisted by the Governor's secretary who is the head of the Secretariat.

The two most important parts of the Uttar Pradesh government and politics are the Legislative Assembly and Legislative Council. The Legislative Assembly is known as Vidhan Sabha which is the lower house and the Legislative Council or Vidhan Parishad is the upper house.

The Vidhan Sabha or the lower house consists of members directly elected by the people of the state. The Legislative Assembly of Uttar Pradesh currently consists of 404 seats. Elections to the legislative Assembly are held once in every five years similar to the election of the Government.

Parties like Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP), Samajwadi Party (SP) and Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) mainly dominate Uttar Pradesh politics. Uttar Pradesh consists of 75 administrative districts and each district is taken care by a District Magistrate. District Magistrates are the highest point of authority in every district of Uttar Pradesh.

Board & Commissions

All total, there are five Boards and Commissions in Uttar Pradesh. Out of these, there are three Boards and two Commissions. The Uttar Pradesh Boards and Commissions are described below:

Political Parties

National Parties are those political parties which have been recognized in more than four states. Political parties are recognized as national parties by the Election Commission of India who monitors the elections in different states. There are many national parties in Uttar Pradesh which have played an important role in shaping up Uttar Pradesh as it is today.

Following is a small brief on all the significant national parties in Uttar Pradesh:

There are many regional parties in Uttar Pradesh. Many of these regional parties have established a strong hold in the politics of the state. Such regional parties have been keeping a watchful eye on the state government. Though they have not been recognized in four or more than that number of states, they have actively been recognized in the respective states from where they fight elections.

Given below is a brief on such two regional parties in Uttar Pradesh :