Nagaland Government and Politics

Nagaland Government

The government of Nagaland was first formed in 1964, a year after the state came into existence. P Shilo Ao was the first chief minister of Nagaland and currently it is headed by T R Zeliang.

The major political parties in Nagaland are the Naga National Democratic Party, Nagaland People's Front and Nagaland Democratic Party. National parties like the Indian National Congress, Bharatiya Janata Part and Janata Dal (Secular) are also present in the state. The present governor of Nagaland is Padmanabha Balakrishna Acharya.

Chief Minister of Nagaland

The honorable Chief Minister of Nagaland, who has been appointed as the administrative head of the state, is Dr. Shurhozelie Liezietsu.

Government Departments

The government departments of Nagaland are engaged in the work of administering and managing the different departments of the state government so that the state runs efficiently. The state government comprises of many departments that are headed by the elected ministers of Nagaland. These departments are integral part of government and politics of the state. There are numerous departments in the Nagaland government that look after the different sections of the administration of the state. These Nagaland government departments are as follows:

The different government departments are headed by the ministers of the state and the chief minister of the state, who heads the entire state government of Nagaland.


The Governor of Nagaland is appointed by the President of India for a period of five years. He functions as the executive and legislative head of the state. At present Padmanabha Balakrishna Acharya is the Governor of Nagaland.


The Legislature of Nagaland is controlled by the Legislative Assembly of the state and plays a monumental role in the Nagaland government and politics. The speaker presides over the proceedings of the Nagaland Legislative Assembly. The Members of legislative Assembly are the elected representatives from various constituencies of Nagaland. There are 60 Assembly constituencies in Nagaland.

Following are the legislative assemblies in Nagaland:

  • Aboi
  • Alongtaki
  • Aghunato
  • Angetyongpang
  • Arkakong
  • Ghaspani-i
  • Dimapur-ii
  • Bhandari
  • Atoizu
  • Akuluto
  • Chazouba
  • Chizami
  • Dimapur-iii
  • Kohima town
  • Longkhim chare
  • Noklak
  • Pfutsero
  • Mongoya
  • Meluri
  • Northern angami-i
  • Mon town
  • Phomching
  • Mokokchung town
  • Jangpetkong
  • Shamator chessore
  • Zunheboto
  • Seyochung sitimi
  • Noksen
  • Moka
  • Pungro kiphire
  • Pughoboto
  • Satakha
  • Impur
  • Phek
  • Southern angami-ii
  • Peren
  • Tizit
  • Longleng
  • Ghaspani-ii
  • Sanis
  • Tehok
  • Dimapur-i
  • Suruhoto
  • Koridang
  • Southern angami-i
  • Northern angami-ii
  • Thonoknyu
  • Tamlu
  • Tenning
  • Tobu
  • Tseminyu
  • Tuensang sadar-ii
  • Tapi
  • Tuli
  • Wokha
  • Tyui
  • Western angami
  • Wakching

Political Parties

Some national and state political parties of Nagaland have prominent presence in the political scenario of the state. The major state parties in Nagaland form an integral part of the government and politics and include the following:

The national parties that have prominence in the Nagaland politics are: