Uttarakhand Map

Uttarakhand Map
Buy Now  custom maps zoom map

*Map of Uttarakhand with districts, railways, rivers and major road network.
Disclaimer: All efforts have been made to make this image accurate. However Mapping Digiworld Pvt Ltd and its directors do not own any responsibility for the correctness or authenticity of the same.

Uttarakhand is a state situated in northern India. Formerly known as Uttrakhand, this state was formed out of the north-western districts of Uttar Pradesh and the Himalayas on 9 November 2000. Also refereed to as the Land of Gods, Uttrakhand is believed to be one of the most naturally bestowed states in India. Uttrakhand shares its borders with Tibet in the north, Uttar Pradesh in the south, Nepal in the east, Haryana in the west and Himachal Pradesh in the North West.

Uttrakhand is home to some of the finest Hindu temples and religious destinations in India. In the year 2007 Uttaranchal was renamed Uttrakhand which means part of the North. The state stretches over an area of 20,682 sq mi of land. Dehradun serves as the capital of state.

While traveling to Uttrakhand it is always advisable to carry a map of the state. There are many different maps of Uttrakhand in India that provide complete information about the important roads, hotels, tourists spots, hospitals etc in the state.

Demographics of Uttarakhand

Country India
State Uttrakhand
District 13 districts
Area 20,682 sq mi
Population (Census 2011) 10,116,752
Coordinates 30°20'N 78°04'E? / ?30.33°N 78.06°E

Uttrakhand has 13 districts which are grouped into two divisions namely Garhwal division and Kumaon division.

The Garhwal division includes seven districts.

The Kumaon division includes six districts.

Uttrakhand State Information

Capital Dehradun
Date of formation 9. Nov. 2000
Governor Krishna Kant Paul
Chief Minister Trivendra Singh Rawat
Tourist attractions Corbett NP, Nainital, Almora Valley of Flowers, Nanda Devi Park
Festivals Devidhura Mela, Nanda Devi Mela, Purnagiri Mela Major dance and music forms Garhwali folk dance and music
Arts and crafts Kholi woodcarving; Aipan or rangoli
Languages Hindi, Garhwali, Kumaoni
Size 53,483 sq. kin
Population 10,086,292
Rivers Ganga, Yamuna, Ramganga, Kali
Forests and wildlife sanctuaries Nanda Devi NP, Rajaji NP, Corbett Tiger Reserve.
State animal Himalayan musk deer
State bird Himalayan monal
State flower Brahm kamal
State tree Burans
Major crops Rice, wheat, arley, jowar, oilseed
Factoids Kedarnath temple, at a height of 3584 m, is devoted to Shiva.
The Kol-Munds, a Dravidian people, were probably the first to live here.
No. of District 13