Chief Minister of Himachal Pradesh

Current Chief Minister of Himachal Pradesh

The current Chief Minister of Himachal Pradesh is Jai Ram Thakur. He took oath on 27 December 2017 as Chief Minister of Himachal Pradesh. Thakur is a member of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP). He has served as an MLA in the Himachal Pradesh Assembly in 1998 and previously served as Cabinet Minister in BJP Government of Himachal Pradesh. Thakur has been elected to Himachal Pradesh Assembly from Seraj in Mandi. He won his first election in the year 1998 from the now delimited constituency of Chachiot (Seraj).

When was Jai Ram Thakur born?

Born: 6 January 1965.

Spouse of Jai Ram Thakur

Smt. Sadhana Thakur.

Parents of Jai Ram Thakur

Late Jhethu Ram Thakur and Brickoo Devi

Children of Jai Ram Thakur

Priyanka Thakur and Chandrika Thakur

Assembly constituency of Jai Ram Thakur

Chachiot (Seraj) constituency

Academic career

Jai Ram Thakur did his schooling from Government Senior Secondary school, Bagsiad. He did his graduation from Vallabh Govt. College in Mandi from where he obtained a BA degree and he further pursued his post-graduation course (M.A)from Panjab University in Chandigarh.

Political career of Jai Ram Thakur

Jai Ram Thakur became the Joint Secretary of Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad(ABVP) of Himachal Pradesh in the year 1986. Later, he became the Organizing Secretary of ABVP in Jammu and Kashmir from the year 1989 to 1993. Thakur became the State Secretary of Bharatiya Janata Party Yuva Morcha in Himachal Pradesh in 1993 to 1995. In 1998 he was elected to the Himachal Pradesh Legislative Assembly. In the year 2000 to 2003, he served as the Vice President of Bharatiya Janata Party in Himachal Pradesh. Later in 2003, Thakur was re-elected to Himachal Pradesh Legislative Assembly. In 2003 to 2005 he served as President of Bharatiya Janata Party Yuva Morcha in Himachal Pradesh. In 2007, 2012 and 2017 he was re-elected to Himachal Pradesh Legislative Assembly (for the fifth time in 2017) and on 27th December 2017, he became the Chief Minister of Himachal Pradesh.

List of Chief Ministers (CM) of Himachal Pradesh

Sl. No. Name of Chief Ministers From To Party
1 Yashwant Singh Parmar Mar 8, 1952 Oct 31, 56 INC
  State ceased to exist Oct 31, 1956 Jul 1, 63 The state was converted into a Union Territory
2 Yashwant Singh Parmar[2] Jul 1, 1963 Jan 28, 77 INC
3 Thakur Ram Lal Jan 28, 1977 Apr 30, 77 INC
  President's Rule Apr 30, 1977 Jun 22, 77  
4 Shanta Kumar Jun 22, 1977 Feb 14, 80 JNP
5 Thakur Ram Lal Feb 14, 1980 Apr 7, 83 INC
6 Virbhadra Singh Apr 8, 1983 Mar 8, 85 INC
7 Virbhadra Singh Mar 8, 1985 Mar 5, 90 INC
8 Shanta Kumar Mar 5, 1990 Dec 15, 92 BJP
  President's Rule Dec 15, 1992 Dec 3, 93  
9 Virbhadra Singh Dec 3, 1993 Mar 23, 98 INC
10 Prem Kumar Dhumal Mar 24, 1998 Mar 5, 03 BJP
11 Virbhadra Singh Mar 6, 2003 Dec 30, 07 INC
12 Prem Kumar Dhumal Dec 30, 2007 Dec 25, 12 BJP
13 Virbhadra Singh Dec 25, 2012 27 December 2017 INC
13 Jai Ram Thakur 27 December 2017 Present BJP

Chief Ministers of India

Andhra Pradesh Jharkhand Pondicherry
Arunachal Pradesh Karnataka Punjab
Assam Kerala Rajasthan
Bihar Madhya Pradesh Sikkim
Chhattisgarh Maharashtra Tamil Nadu
Delhi Manipur Telangana
Goa Meghalaya Tripura
Gujarat Mizoram Uttar pradesh
Haryana Nagaland Uttarakhand
Himachal Pradesh Orissa West Bengal
Jammu Kashmir