Jaspal Bhatti Biography

Jaspal Singh Bhatti was a famous Indian comedian, actor and satirist. As a great television personality, he was most famous for his satirical take on the problems of the common man. He is renowned for his television series "Flop Show" and mini series "Ulta Pulta" which ran on Doordarshan in the late 80s and early 90s. Jaspal Bhatti was born on 3rd March 1955 in Amritsar. He completed his Electrical Engineer Degree from Punjab Engineering College in Chandigarh, Punjab. During his college days, Jaspal Bhatti was well-known for his street plays like Nonsense Club. These plays were spoofs which ridiculed the corruption in society. In 1985, he married Savita and has a son, Jasraj and a daughter, Raabiya.

Before entering into television, Jaspal Bhatti was a cartoonist for the Tribune newspaper in Chandigarh. In 1990s, he established home-made comedy on Doordarshan, the Hindi TV channel and became quite famous for his comedy acting. His low-budget TV program "Flop Show" in the early 90s is still remembered today. His wife produced the show and also acted as his wife in all episodes. Only ten episodes were ever produced, but the show achieved a powerful legacy and is still remembered. Jaspal Bhatti later directed and acted in the popular TV series Ulta Pulta and Nonsense Private Limited for the Doordarshan television network. His gift of introducing humour to emphasize everyday issues of the middle class society in India attracted the audience to his shows. His satire on the Punjab police "Mahaul Theek Hai" in 1999 was his first directorial project for a full-length feature film in Punjabi language. Its honest and simple humour was well expected amongst audience.

He appeared in several other television programmes like SAB TV's "Comedy ka King Kaun" in which he was a judge and in a Star Plus show "Nach Baliye" in which he and his wife competed and entertained the audiences with their dancing and comic skills. He also played many roles as a comedian in Hindi and Punjabi films. In his later years, Jaspal Bhatti established a training school and a studio in Mohali called "Joke Factory". He also launched a new 52-episode comedy series titled ''Thank You Jijaji'' on SAB TV which was shot at his own MAD Arts film school in Chandigarh. In 2009, Mad Art's animation film on female foeticide won second prize in the Advantage India which was organized by 1take media. It also won a certificate of merit at the IDPA-2008 Awards in Mumbai. Jaspal Bhatti was also presented with the Lifetime Achievement Award at the first Golden Kela Awards.

On 25th October 2012, Jaspal Bhatti died in a car accident. The car in which he was traveling hit a roadside tree near Shahkot in Nakodar area of the district around 3 am. He was driving from Bhatinda to Jalandhar for the promotion of his film, "Power Cut" along with his son Jasraj Bhatti and actress Surilie Gautam. Jaspal Bhatti was taken to a private hospital in Jalandhar where he was declared brought dead on arrival by the doctors. Jaspal Bhatti will be forever remembered for his modest humour style, which not only made us laugh but also exposed both corruption in our every day life and the people who thrive on it, revealing the harsh truths of our society.

Related Links
Bollywood Actors
Aamir Khan Jimmy Shergill Rajendra Kumar
Abhishek Bachchan Jitendra Rajendra Nath
Ajay Devgan John Abraham Rajesh Khanna
Akshay Kumar Johnny Walker Dr Rajkumar
Akshaye Khanna Kader Khan Rajnikant
Amitabh Bachchan Kumar Gaurav Randhir Kapoor
Anil Kapoor Kundan Lal Saigal Ritesh Deshmukh
Ashutosh Rana Mahesh Manjrekar Saif Ali Khan
Bobby Deol Manoj Bajpai Salman Khan
Chandrachur Singh Mehmood Sanjay Dutt
Dilip Kumar Milind Soman Shah Rukh Khan
Dino Morea Naseeruddin Shah Nawazuddin Siddiqui
Fardeen Khan Om Puri Shammi Kapoor
Farhan Akhtar Prithviraj Kapoor Sunil Shetty
Hrithik Roshan Rahul Khanna Sunny Deol
Jackie Shroff Raj Babbar Tusshar Kapoor
Jagdeep Raj Kapoor Shahid Kapoor
Sushant Singh Rajput
Bollywood Actresses
Aditi Govitrikar Karishma Kapoor Raveena Tandon
Aishwarya Rai Katrina Kaif Rekha Ganesan
Amisha Patel Kim Sharma Rimi Sen
Amrita Arora Lalita Pawar Rinkie Khanna
Amrita Rao Lisa Ray Riya Sen
Antara Mali Madhuri Dixit Sameera Reddy
Ayesha Takia Mahima Choudhary Shabana Azmi
Babita Malaika Arora Shamita Shetty
Bipasha Basu Mallika Sherawat Sharmila Tagore
Celina Jaitley Manisha Koirala Shashikala
Dimple Kapadia Meghna Reddy Smita Patil
Diya Mirza Namrata Shirodkar Soha Ali Khan
Esha Deol Nandita Das Sonali Bendre
Gracy Singh Neha Dhupia Sonali Kulkarni
Hema Malini Pooja Bedi Suchitra Sen
Isha Koppikar Pooja Bhatt Sushmita Sen
Jaya Bachchan Preeti Jhangiani Tabu
Juhi Chawla Preity Zinta Tara Sharma
Kajol Priyanka Chopra Zohra Sehgal
Kareena Kapoor Deepika Padukone  
Film Director and Film Maker
Deepa Mehta Mahesh Bhatt Yash Chopra
Satyajit Ray  
Ekta Kapoor Jaspal Bhatti  
Telugu cinema
Chiranjeevi Nagarjuna  
Tamil cinema
Ilaiyaraaja Prabhu Ganesan  
Malayalam cinema