Delhi Government

The Delhi government plays a significant role in looking after the social wellbeing of all citizens residing in the capital city. The former Chief Minister of Delhi Arvind Kejriwal was of the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), who defeated Sheila Dikshit of the Congress party in the 2013 Assembly elections. The constitutional head of Delhi is the Lieutenant Governor and Anil Baijal is currently holds this position.

The Delhi State Assembly was formed on March 17, 1952, which was constituted under the 1951 government of Part C States Acts. In September 1966 the set up underwent a change; a Metropolitan Council was established, which included 56 members who were elected and 5 other nominated members. Later on the council was substituted by the Legislative Assembly of Delhi through Indian Constitution's 69th Amendment in 1991.

Ministers of Delhi Government

Presently there is President's rule in Delhi and hence there is no appointed ministry yet. The ministers of Delhi will be announced after the formation of the next government. The last government was that of the Aam Aadmi Party, which resigned on 14 February 2014.

Delhi Government Departments

Delhi government comprises of different departments. These departments cater to the needs of all Delhihites. Some of these departments are:

Political Parties of Delhi

Delhi political parties play an important role in the governmental system of the country. All major political parties have their head office located in Delhi, which is the capital city of India. In India, multi party system is followed.

Some of the political parties of Delhi are: Aam Aadmi Party, Indian National Congress, Bharatiya Janata Party, Bahujan Samaj Party, Shiromani Akali Dal, Rashtriya Janata Dal, Communist Party of India and Nationalist Congress Party. Besides national parties, regional parties also maintain their office in Delhi as these small parties plays an important role in today's coalition politics.

Municipal Corporation of Delhi

The Municipal Corporation of Delhi was formed through an Act of Parliament in the year 1958. The total area of function of Municipal Corporation of Delhi is categorised under 12 different sections. The functional zones of Municipal Corporation of Delhi are as follows:

Operating as a prime branch of Delhi government, the Municipal Corporation supervises the various civic issues of the rural as well as urban parts of the city. One of the main identities of the Municipal Corporation of Delhi is that it is one of the largest such bodies with respect to area.

Delhi Chief Minister

The 7th Chief Minister of Delhi was Arvind Kejriwal, whose government lasted about 50 days, from 28 December 2014 to 14 February 2014. The next Chief Minister will be announced after the new government is formed.